Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Khan awarded Britain's best Boxer

Unified WBA and IBF light-welterweight world champion Amir ‘King’ Khan has scooped the 2011 British Boxer of the Year gong at the annual awards ceremony held by the British Boxing Board of Control on Sunday. The event saw the Bolton star shake-off stiff competition from contenders such as Ricky Burns, Carl Froch, Nathan Cleverly and Jamie McDonnell, all who have enjoyed a fruitful year. Khan, though, has had a highly successful 12 months, having beaten Argentine bruiser Marcos Maidana in Las Vegas last December before his homecoming to England in which he saw off the challenge of undefeated European champion Paul McCloskey at the M.E.N Arena in Manchester. The highlight of the year, however, came against tricky New Yorker Zab Judah in July, when he unified the 140 pound division after a sensational performance in which he stopped the IBF world champion in the 5th round. “I’m very proud to have won the British Boxer of the Year Award,” said Khan. “It means a lot to me to be recognised with this award and gives me the motivation to strive for even more success in my career,” he said. “I would like to thank my team and fans for helping me pick up this award, without their help I would not be able to reach the levels I have over the last year. Freddie Roach, my trainer, has been a key figure in helping me become a unified world champion and I’m sure that the next 12 months will get even better for me,” said Khan. “Thank you to the British Boxing Board of Control for this and I hope to continue to make British boxing proud,” added Khan. The Olympic silver medallist was unable to make it to the event as he is currently in training ahead of his December 10th showdown with Lamont Peterson in Washington. Speaking from his Los Angeles camp, Khan is confident ahead of a bout that he hopes will kick-start a big 2012. “Training is going great and I feel ready to do the business on December 10th. Lamont Peterson is a tough opponent and is a fighter with a very big heart, which showed in his comeback against Victor Ortiz,” Khan said. “But I’m confident, the hard work is nearly done and I’m ready to put on another show come fight night – it will definitely not be one to miss,” he said.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Garcia grabs October's Order of Merit

Sergio Garcia’s stunning return to winning ways with back-to-back victories in the Castelló Masters and the Andalucia Masters in his native country has earned the dashing Spaniard The Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Month Award for October. The 31 year old claimed his first title since the HSBC Champions back in November 2008 when he turned in a compelling performance over his home course, Club de Campo del Mediterráneo, to capture the event by an 11 shot margin with a 27 under par total of 257. Garcia promptly made it two wins in succession, for the first time in his European Tour career, by becoming the first Spaniard to claim a title over the fiendishly tricky Club de Golf Valderrama, where he had finished second in three consecutive Volvo Masters between 2004-2006. In the space of two tournaments, Garcia amassed €833,330 to climb to 18th in the Official World Golf Ranking and seventh in The Race to Dubai. October turned out to be a memorable month for The European Tour, with a dramatic entrance to the professional ranks by Walker Cup winner, Tom Lewis of England, who secured his first professional title in just his third event, the Portugal Masters. Lewis was a strong contender for the monthly award, as was his fellow countryman, Lee Slattery, who landed the Bankia Madrid Masters on his 183rd start on The European Tour. On the global front, Luke Donald produced a remarkable finish to claim the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals Classic and the 2011 US PGA Tour Money List title, while Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland captured the Lake Malaren Shanghai Masters in China. However, Garcia topped the October poll and he joins an illustrious list of Race to Dubai Golfer of the Month winners in 2011, following Martin Kaymer (January), Luke Donald (February and May), Paul Lawrie (March), Charl Schwartzel (April), Rory McIlroy (June), Darren Clarke (July), Thomas Björn (August) and Michael Hoey (September). Garcia will now, with his fellow award winners, be considered for The 2011 Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Year Award, which was won jointly by Martin Kaymer and Graeme McDowell in 2010.