Wednesday, July 06, 2011

McIlroy in the Spotlight

Rory McIlroy has been named The 2011 Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Month for June following his devastating performance at the US Open Championship. The 22 year old Northern Irishman’s sensational eight-shot victory at the Congressional Country Club saw him post the lowest winning score (268) in the Championship’s illustrious history by an incredible four strokes as he became the youngest winner of the season’s second Major since Bobby Jones in 1923. McIlroy, who receives an engraved alms dish and a jeroboam of Moët & Chandon champagne for winning the Golfer of the Month award, moved to third place in The 2011 Race to Dubai and is now hot on the heels of the two men ahead of him – World Number One Luke Donald and Masters Champion Charl Schwartzel.“It is always nice to win any award for playing good golf but this Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Month has to go down as an extra special one given that I won the award due to my performance at Congressional,” said McIlroy I hope this will not be the first Golfer of the Month Award I receive after winning a Major Championship!” In much the same way as his US Open victory left the rest of the field playing for second place, McIlroy similarly distanced himself from the other candidates despite a number of outstanding performances in June. Alex Noren won the SAAB Wales Open; Robert Rock captured his maiden European Tour title at the BMW Italian Open as did Matthew Zions at the SAINT OMER OPEN presented by NEUFLIZE OBC; Pablo Larrazabal overcame Sergio Garcia in a play-off for the BMW International Open; Fredrik Jacobsen won the Travellers Championship on the PGA Tour; and at the Alstom Open de France where Thomas Levet claimed the title. The judging panel – which comprises members of the Association of Golf Writers as well as commentators from radio and television – were swift to acknowledge the sheer brilliance of McIlroy’s history-making performance. McIlroy joins an illustrious list of Race to Dubai Golfer of the Month winners in 2011, following Martin Kaymer (January), Luke Donald (February and May), Paul Lawrie (March) and Charl Schwartzel (April). McIlroy will now join his fellow award winners to be considered for The 2011 Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Year Award, which was won jointly by Graeme McDowell and Martin Kaymer in 2010.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home